FORMER Styal Golf Club assistant professional Alastair Waddell has a crown to defend.

He won the Manchester Alliance matchplay title for the second time in recent years in 2019, beating Davyhulme Park professional Martyn Hamer in the final staged at Ashton-on-Mersey GC.

Ashton will again host this year’s finals day on April 5 and Alastair, who now works at Chorlton GC, will be aiming to make it a hat-trick.

He has a bye into round two when he plays the winner of the round one match between Dave Smith (Swinton Park) and Alex Pritchard (Poulton Park).

Alderley Edge professional Charles le Sueur awaits the winner of another first round contest, Chris Bibby (Whitefield) against Mark Pearson (Prestwich).

A nine-hole stableford at Alderley Edge saw Robert Anderson in a league of his own with 23 points, five more than Alan Adams, Simon Barber, Chris Brandon, Mike O’Regan, Gary Johnstone and Andrew Boyle.

Winter League action for Styal seniors had Graham Swann flying high as he posted 42 points to finish well clear of Bruce Cochrane 38, Paul Jones 36 and Steve Weaver 35.

Neil Brownhill was also out on his own in a Saturday stableford at Styal with 42 points taking him home from Mike McGuigan 39 and Ismel Mury, Ken Mayoh and Ian Barber, all 37.

Next day in the Sunday stableford Patrick Sharrocks posted 40 points to lead in from Jeffrey Chadwick, 37, Derek Lamb 36 and Mark Weekes 35.

In the Styal ladies Winter League, Mel Hill kept up her great record with 14 points taking her one clear of Nancy Chorlton.

Sean Smith had first pick of the prizes as he won a stableford at Mottram Hall with 35 points and just a point off the pace were Andrew Brechin, Peter Smith and David Laird.

It needed a cpo on 80 points in a team stableford at Prestbury to see the hot trio of S Kimber, D Rogers and Fred Bridge win from N Wood, W Dawson and S Moorhouse, two more than G Payne, M Forbes and M Jackson.

Medal action from Shrigley Hall had Harry Bateman leading in division one with 67 from Jack Bennett 69 and Richard Burrow 70.

In division two Michael Gibbons won a cpo on 73 from Michael Chesters, two less than Alan Davidson.

Harry Bateman again led from the front in the Thursday stableford at Shrigley with 39 points, two better than Michael Lisle, Peter Whitehurst and Steven Holroyd.