THE Mere Golf Resort provided the setting for the 68th annual dinner of the Cheshire Union of Golf Clubs.

Guests enjoyed an occasion led by Cheshire president Andrew Henshall from Wilmslow Golf Club.

Andrew toasted his successor and the President for the centenary in 2020, David Durling of Shrigley Hall Golf Club, and announced that Reg Maddock from Wilmslow Golf Club was the new deputy president elect.

He also made special awards to Jim McBride for his excellent work in running Cheshire competitions for many years and to Chris Harrison of Sandiway who is stepping down from being the team captain after a successful five years in the role.

The final presentations were to Mike Harrington (Prestbury) as player of the year and Jack Brooks (Mere Golf Club) as Order of Merit winner.

The main guests were Jenny Clink, the President of England Golf, and guest speaker Dr Bruce Taylor, a past captain of Royal Liverpool Golf Club and a member of the Royal and Ancient Club of St Andrews.

There were also representatives from other counties and golf organisations as well as groups from many of Cheshire’s member clubs, including a fine array of past Cheshire Presidents and officials also enjoying the occasion.