A Wednesday Stableford at Styal over 9 holes was won by Frank Wilson with 19 points ahead of Nigel Hinds 18 and Jerry Chalmers 17.

A 9-hole Wednesday Stableford at Styal needed a cpo on 19 points to see Mike Rance into top spot from club legend Ivan Bloor, John McBryer and Terry Hanna.

A Progressive Team Stableford for Styal Seniors needed a cpo on 77 points to see the hot trio of D Greenwood, G Hamilton and B Appleby to victory over S Weaver, Harry Reid and T Ghost, two motre than J Jones, J Hepplestone and P Carr.

Styal seniors played a Team Waltzing Stableford and the ‘Strictly’ winning team with 80 points were K Bristowe,, D Jones and D Tomlinson from C Fellowes, M Mason and B Appleby 78 and P Christie, P Moore and J Marshall 76.

The latest Ladies Winter League Stableford at Styal had Liz Dabrowski out on her own with 27 points from Enid Laverty 23 and Mel Hill 21.

The Friday Frolics at Styal was led in by Frank Wilson with 20 points from Jeffrey Chadwick19 and Jerry Chalmers and Peter Davies, both 18.

Division one in a Saturday Stableford at Styal was led in by Giovanni Porro with 39 points, one more than Jeffrey Chadwick and Rob Sanderson.

In division two William Geddis was out on his own with 42 points, three more than Patrick Sharrocks and Ian Barber.

THE Society of Manchester and District Golf Captains enjoyed a splendid occasion at the 63rd Annual Dinner at the impressive venue of The Mere Golf Resort.

There were over 120 members and guests with the principal guests being led in by Society Captain Tony Gregory.

They included the President of England Golf Desmond Duffy who proposed the toast to the society and outlined the details of the incoming new rules of golf in 2019 emphasising the need to improve the speed of golf.

Tony Gregory responded and thanked all of those who had worked so hard behind the scenes during a most enjoyable year in office.

Tony wished his successor Daniel Stone and new President Mike Rhodes (Styal), succeeding current President Ian Brooks (Bolton Old Links), every success in 2019 and he announced that next year’s Vice Captain and Captain in 2020 would be Ian Michael (Ellesmere).

The evening was brought to a close by Jim Robertson, a Procurator Fiscal from Scotland with some entertaining stories of golf in Scotland intertwined with the humorous side of Scottish crime!

As ever members and their guests enjoyed a truly splendid evening- meeting up with their golfing friends from all of the different clubs in the region and further afield.