KNUTSFORD Triathlon Club member Paul Hawkins saw off close 600 competitors to win the eighth annual Wilmslow Triathlon.

Also a victor in the inaugural event back in 2007, he completed the course in a time of 1:07.07 to take first prize again.

Second out of the water following a 400m swim at the town’s leisure centre, he took the lead during a 24.2km cycle ride and continued to extend it on a 6.3km run to the finish to win by more than a minute.

Lewis Eccleston (Astley & Tyldesley Road Runners) came second in a time of 1:08:48 while Simon Parker (SCARAB Tri Club) secured third position in 1:09:28.

Lucy Scott, also representing Knutsford, put in a superb performance to win in the under 20s women’s age class in 1:21.38. She was third female to finish overall too.

Jonathan Metcalfe was first home in the men’s 35-39 category, placing fourth overall in 1:10:01.

Knutsford Tri’s Claire Hebblethwaite was fifth woman to cross the line in 1:24:00, claiming second spot in the 35-39 age class.

She was followed by Richard Brown in the men’s 35-39 in 1:27:46 with Kate Mills, in the same age category, less than a minute further back.

Tim Walley and Abi Cocksedge both made it home in under one hour and 40 minutes in the 35-39 category, with Philip Crump and Nick McIntosh completing Knutsford’s contingent.

Results Wilmslow Triathon (overall positions): 1. Paul Hawkins (30-34) 1:07:07; 4. Jonathan Metcalfe (35-39) 1:10:01; 53. Lucy Scott (u20) 1:21:38; 73. Claire Hebblethwaite (35-39) 1:24:00; 117. Richard Brown (35-39) 1:27:46; 122. Kate Mills (35-39) 1:28:17; 151. Tim Walley (35-39) 1:30:14; 213. Abi Cocksedge (35-39) 1:33:39; 289. Nikki Chamberlain (40-44) 1:39:27; 351. Philip Crump (50-54) 1:44:16; 495. Nick McIntosh (45-49) 2:03:18.