TOFT Cricket Club will have new captains next season.

Phil Raikes takes over from Jimmy Lomas as club captain, subject to formal approval at the annual meeting in December.

And Ed Stubbs replaces second XI skipper Paul Ashley.

Lomas, five years, and Ashley, 13 years, had given significant service to the club in the roles.

Both players will continue to represent the club.


MERE A and Wilmslow Cons A achieved 6-1 wins to kick off week seven of the Knutsford and District Amateur Snooker League.

Mere A’s win was against their C team while Wilmslow Cons A’s success was against Tatton C, the latter match being a lot closer than the 6-1 scorline suggests with just six points in the overall aggregate.

Tatton A leaped to the top of the table with a 5-2 victory against champions Shaw Heath.

Tatton B edged out Morley 4-3 to remain in second place. The match contained ton-plus scores from Steve Prosser and Jason Robinson.

Mobberley C drop to third after a 4-3 defeat to Wilmslow Cons B. Ralph Robertson (Wilmslow) and Alan Williams (Mobberley) both had 100-plus point scores in their frames.

Mobberley A edged out their B team by eight aggregate points, with Mark Newall making two 30+ breaks in his frames.

Graham Walls’ excellent 49 break in Morley’s match against Mobberley A sees him win the monthly highest break prize sponsored by The National Snooker Expo.


Mere C 1 Mere A 6, Tatton C 1 Wilmslow Cons A 6, Mobberley A 4 Mobberley B 3, Morley Green 3 Tatton B 4, Tatton A 5 Shaw Heath 2, Wilmslow Cons B 4 Mobberley C 3.