SHAW Heath are confirmed as the champions of the Knutsford and District Amateur Snooker League for 2021/22.

It is their first crown since 1996 and thoroughly deserved.

They sealed the title with a week to spare and in a fashion that was typical of their dominant season.

Their 6-1 victory over Mobberley C contained a 500-point team total, 100 plus frame scores from Shaun Brearly and Adam Griffiths as well as a 37 break from the latter.

Scott Marshall's team have lost just three matches all season and their latest 6-1 victory opened up an unassailable 10-point cushion.

Morley Green have pushed Shaw Heath hard all season but their 4-3 defeat to Tatton A means they will have to settle with a creditable runners-up spot on their return to the league following a four-year absence.

Mobberley A lost 5-2 to Mere A in the week that their nine-year grip on the title was ended and they now look almost certain to end up in third place.

Mere A's James Owen won twice on the night, scoring a total of 189 points in his two frames.

Wilmslow Cons B had their best result of the season, a 7-0 whitewash of Tatton B which moves them up to ninth in the table.

Mere C beat Wilmslow Cons A 5-2 and Tatton C edged out Mobberley B in a high scoring encounter – both Paul Baston and Darren Taylor scoring over 100 points in their frames.

On the individual front, the race for the best performance trophy will go down to the last week with Brearly (Shaw Heath) and Matt Dale (Wilmslow Cons) both in contention.

Results: Tatton C 4 Mobberley B 3, Mobberley A 2 Mere A 5, Morley Green 3 Tatton A 4, Shaw Heath 6 Mobberley C 1, Tatton B 0 Wilmslow Cons B 7, Wilmslow Cons A 2 Mere C 5.