CORONAVIRUS has interrupted the 2021 Cheshire County Cricket League programme for the first time.

On Saturday, three fixtures in Division One and one in Division Two were called off.

Clubs have been told they can rearrange the games, or accept a points award of seven each.

The top two teams in the Premiership both won handsomely, leaders Nantwich thrashing Alderley Edge by nine wickets after bowling them out for 86.

Didsbury remain one point behind after trouncing Timperley by 123 runs, with openers Marcus Fisher (105) and Henry Charlton (95) putting on 187.

Oulton Park stay third, 42 points behind the leaders, after a plucky draw at Oxton, who totalled 188-5, with Ben Gibbon taking three wickets for 54 runs. Oulton reached 181-9, with Danny Leach back to form with 71.

Toft lost by 24 runs at Hyde despite a good all-round effort by James Scott with 5-49 and 54 not out.

Highest scorers of the day were Chester with 342-3 at Neston, Alex Money (131) and Harry Killoran (109) adding 182 for the fourth wicket. Neston reached 213-7, with Jack Williams 4-69.

Bollington lead Division One by 18 points from Bowdon thanks to a five wickets derby win against Macclesfield.

Second and third placed Bowdon and Brooklands were both called off.

Romiley lead Division Two after winning by six wickets at Stockport.


Premier Division: Cheadle 99 lost to Widnes 100-6; Didsbury 288-7 beat Timperley 165; Hyde 195-8 beat Toft 171; Nantwich 88-1 beat Alderley Edge 86; Neston 215-7 drew with Chester 342-3 dec; Oxton 188-5 drew with Oulton Park 181-9.

Division One: Bollington 185-5 beat Macclesfield 182; Bowdon v Sale postponed; Brooklands v Davenham postponed; Grappenhall v Conglerton postponed; Urmston 245-7 drew with Marple 279-6 (M Bennett 105, A Hall 103); Warrington 98 lost to Bramhall 101-2

Division Two: Ashton on Mersey 248 beat Haslington 138; Barrow 183 Upton 164; Hale Barns 92 Mobberley 95; Lindow v Alvanley postponed; Stockport 195 lost to Romiley 196-4; Stockport Geo. 236-8 beat Chistleton 91.

Cheshire Cup semi-finals draw: Bollington v New Brighton (August 1); Wallasey or Chester v Hyde (to be arranged). The final is on August 22.