A KNUTSFORD golfer is named in the England men's squads in preparation for the 2021 season.

Jack Brooks, 29, is the only player from Cheshire to feature in the 20 who will form the strong men’s and Men’s ‘A’ squads for next term.

The Mere Golf Resort & Spa’s golf tournament ambassador, who finished sixth in the North of England Open Amateur Championship in October and last year won The Royal Birkdale Silver Goblet, has retained his place in the 'A' squad.

After Covid-19 restrictions disrupted the 2020 campaign, it is hoped that public health concerns will ease to allow players to once again compete in European team events and Home Internationals.

Gareth Jenkins, talent development and men’s squad manager at England Golf said: “We have been able to select two very talented and strong squads for 2021.

“It was difficult to narrow it down to this selection from a wider pool of extremely gifted golfers.

“The engagement from all the players in 2020 was fantastic despite the many difficulties that we all faced as events were cancelled, postponed or re-scheduled.

“Hopefully, restrictions will ease in the months ahead to allow for more tournament play in 2021.

“We will continue to plan regular coaching sessions for the squad players on top of any championships and I look forward to watching them all develop as the year goes on.”

England won the Home Internationals when last staged at Lahinch GC in Ireland in 2019 and are aiming to defend the crown at Royal Dornoch GC in Scotland between April 14-16.

The European Men’s Team Championship is planned for July 6-10 at Vasatorps GC in Sweden.

Men’s Squad: Sam Bairstow (Hallowes GC, Derbyshire), Jake Bolton (Ogbourne Downs GC, Wiltshire), Jack Cope (The Players Club, Gloucestershire), Callum Farr (Northamptonshire County GC, Northamptonshire), Haider Hussain (Kendleshire GC, Gloucestershire), Ben Jones (Northamptonshire County GC, Northamptonshire), Matty Lamb (Hexham GC, Northumberland), Joe Long (Lansdown GC, Gloucestershire), Ben Schmidt (Rotherham GC, Yorkshire), Robin Williams (Peterborough Milton GC, Northamptonshire).

Men’s A Squad: Callan Barrow (Royal Lytham and St Anne’s GC, Lancashire), Jack Brooks (The Mere GC, Cheshire), Jack Dyer (Boyce Hill GC, Essex), Arron Edwards-Hill (Chelmsford GC, Essex), Harry Goddard (Hanbury Manor GC, Hertfordshire), Joe Harvey (Kendleshire GC, Gloucestershire), Olly Huggins (Frilford Heath GC, BB&O), Max Martin (Harborne GC, Warwickshire), Charlie Strickland (Ham Manor GC, Sussex), Charlie Thornton (Fulford GC, Yorkshire).