GOLF competitions are starting to return in numbers following the end of the suspension that was forced by the coronavirus outbreak.

Results have come in from events at both Alderley Edge and Styal Golf Clubs.

Alderley Edge's men played a singles stableford and Matthew Robinson was top of the shop with 40 points.

He finished ahead of Neil Johnson, 39, and John Newsham and Mike Harding, both 38.

Harding had an up and down day as he reported before play that he had lost two balls shanking in the practice net and then lost two irons – which were found on the practice ground – but he recovered to put in a good score!

A nine-hole stableford at Alderley was won by Steve Bennett with 19 points and hot on his heels with 18 were Duncan McPherson, Andrew Slater, Gary Buxton and Vidal Spaine.

It was close in a better ball stableford for Alderley’s ladies with a card play-off on 37 points being won by Janette Smith and Jean Walker from L Burns and C Roberts as well as Olivia Brewster and J McGregor.

Styal’s men ended their break from competitive action with a glut of competitions and the June Davenport Trophy was won by Graham Jones after a cpo on 36 points with Steve Watson.

It also needed a cpo on 68 to see Sam Hall win a Wednesday medal from Dylan Bennett, two less than Jordan Howard and Mark Window.

Next day it was a Seniors stableford with John Pickerill on top with 36 points, two more than John Weston, Steve Walker and Paul Lawday.

Styal ladies played a singles Stableford with Lynsey Forsythe posting 37 points, from Erin Parker, 36, and Mel Hill, 33.

Mottram Hall’s men enjoyed the delayed Champion of Champions Winter League final and none more so than Andrew Brown with a winning score of 69, two less than Eric Baker and Kevin Barker.

A midweek stableford at Prestbury had Charlie Ward out on his own with 42 points from Melvyn Williams and Matthew Delany, both 38.

Prestbury ladies played a stableford for the Grannies Trophy and in division one Helen Bolam cruised to victory with 40 points from Gillian Singh 35.

Division two was closer with Deborah Ward winning a cpo on 35 points from Judy Grant, three more than Karen Keen.