THERE will likely be a new name on the Jay Trophy, the Knutsford and District Amateur Snooker League’s premier singles competition, at the end of term.

Only two of the last eight line-up – nine times former winner Bruce Tulley and 2004 champion Steve Bond – have claimed the title in previous seasons.

Royal London’s Mark Newall, runner-up last time around, fell at the last 16 stage this week against Paul Hart (Morley).

Newall, in tandem with clubmate Steve Flinders, endured a week to forget as they crashed out of the Bert Astles Pairs at the first round stage. They were defending champions.

In the JME Alternate Pairs, inaugural winners Paul Townsend and James Phillipson (Tatton) eased into the quarter finals without having to play after scheduled opponents Hart and Jason Robinson conceded.

Results, Bert Astles Pairs Round One:

Tony Crompton & Steve Bond (Mobberley) bt Mark Newall & Steve Flinders (Mobberley A) 2-1; Peter Hargreaves & Bruce Tulley (Mobberley) bt Andy Long & Steve Prosser (Brook Street) 2-0; Paul Hart & Jason Robinson (Morley) bt Jake O’Neil & James Scroggins (Wilmslow RBL) 2-1; Sam & Geoff Jackson (Mere) w/o Leighton Lathrope & Mark Evans (Shaw Heath); John & Peter O’Neil (Wilmslow Cons) bt Dave McDonald & Gary Williams (Shaw Heath) 2-1; Matthew and Richard Owen (Mere A) lost to Tom & John Jackson (Mere B) 0-2. Jay Trophy Round Two: Will Bell (Wilmslow Cons B) lost to Mark Anderson (Wilmslow Cons A) 1-2; Steve Bond (Mobberley A) w/o Dave Rainford (Shaw Heath A); Tony Crompton (Mobberley A) bt Paul Townsend (Tatton) 2-0; Paul Hart (Morley) bt Mark Newall (Royal London) 2-0; Sam Jackson (Mere B) bt Gary Long (Brook Street) 2-0; Dave McDonald (Shaw Heath B) bt Andy Long (Brook Street) 2-0; Adam McNeil (Mobberley B) lost to Mark Murphy (Mere A) 1-2; Bruce Tulley (Mobberley A) bt John O’Neil (Wilmslow RBL) 2-0.